Your session will end in  seconds due to inactivity. Click here to continue using this web page.
Commentary Special

Purpose Statement

As believers committed to God and walking in obedience to Him, we affirm the purpose of Grace to You, which is to teach biblical truth with clarity, taking advantage of various means of mass communications to expand the sphere of John MacArthur’s teaching ministry.

We use mass communications media to expose John’s teaching to as wide an audience as possible “for the equipping of the saints for the work of service, to the building up of the body of Christ; until we all attain to the unity of the faith, and of the knowledge of the Son of God, to a mature man, to the measure of the stature which belongs to the fullness of Christ” (Ephesians 4:12-13).

One of our principal tasks is to protect believers from being “tossed here and there by waves, and carried about by every wind of doctrine, by the trickery of men, by craftiness in deceitful scheming” (v. 14).  We accept the God-given responsibility of “speaking the truth in love” (v. 15) and strive for the growth of the church and glory of the Lord, rather than the praise and honor of men.

Our role is not to supplant the local church’s ministry, but to support it by providing additional resources for those hungering for the truth of God’s Word.  Media ministries can never substitute for involvement in a biblical church, group Bible study, or interaction with a teacher.  Yet we sense the need for more in-depth resources, evidenced by the many Christians and Christian leaders worldwide who depend on our ministry to supplement their own study.

Our desire is that God be glorified through Grace to You’s resources.  The Lord Jesus Christ is the Head of this ministry, and we desire to perform our work as unto Him, to reflect Him to all those we encounter, and to operate not in our own strength but through His power (Philippians 4:13).


Purpose Fulfillment

Grace to You’s strategy for spreading John MacArthur’s teaching ministry far and wide involves mass communications media. We use such platforms as radio, television, video, print, and the Internet to distribute resources to people all over the world. The “Grace to You” radio and television programs, John MacArthur’s publications, and the thousands of sermons in his Internet sermon archive have literally circled the globe.

The Grace to You management team meets regularly to conduct the business of the ministry (i.e., measure progress, evaluate opportunities, assess effectiveness); the board of directors meets semi-annually to provide general oversight for the management team. Strong, stable leadership has been God’s gift to ensure the wise and faithful stewardship of the truth. Good leadership has been essential in converting financial resources into spiritual resources, connecting Grace to You supporters with the millions of people they help around the world.

As we hear from listeners and viewers, read mail, receive reports from missionaries, and observe Internet visitor data, we see how God makes our strategies successful, helping us fulfill our purpose statement. John MacArthur has always been eager to share what God is doing in and through Grace to You. He often updates listeners and viewers on the “Grace to You” radio and television programs, and every month he sends out a letter with ministry updates. (Click here to see Grace to You’s audited financial statement.) The news is always good as we watch God doing exceedingly, abundantly above all we could ask or think.


Management Team

Jay Flowers, Managing Director
Miguel Contreras, Director of Gracia a Vosotros
Bill Fickett, Director of Technology and Customer Service
Corey Williams, Manager of Broadcasting
Paul Ackerman, Manager of Development
Wayne de Villiers, Human Resources Manager
Steve Ostini, Editorial Manager
Rufus Harvey, Chief Financial Officer
Phil Johnson, Executive Director
John MacArthur, President


Board of Directors (current as of July 31, 2014)

Joe Aleppo*
Phil Johnson
John MacArthur
Mark MacArthur
Matthew MacArthur
Robert McIntyre*
Christopher Parkening*
David Parsons*
Tom Pennington*
Robert Provost*
Kent Stainback*

* Independent voting members